DENOSA Northern Cape "20-not-out" Celebration

Read more
DENOSA Northern Cape awards dedicated and selfless nurse in the province

Read more
DENOSA shop stewards lead nurses to CEOs office over non-payment of allowance in Kimberley 

Read more

Northern Cape honours caring nurses with Marilyn Lahana Trust Caring Awards

By Roger Kruger

DENOSA Provincial Secretary, Northern Cape

 The provincial annual Marilyn Lahana Trust Caring Awards honoured outstanding members of the nursing and midwifery profession who have shown a special quality of caring and dedication to their patients and colleagues at a glamourous event at Savoy Hotel in Kimberley on 1 October.

 The award commemorates Marilyn Lahana, a Johannesburg nurse who died after contracting the Ebola virus from a patient. A number of people felt that Marilyn’s life and death were an example of the selfless spirit of nursing, a profession in which practitioners routinely put their patients’ interests before their own. The Marilyn Lahana Trust was set up soon after her death in consultation with her family and the award was instituted in 1998. DENOSA had administrated the award process ever since.

 The provincial ceremony was attended by DENOSA’s First Deputy President, Cde Modise Letsatsi, Head of the Northern Cape Department of Health, Cde Gugulethu Matlaopane, DENOSA’s Project Manager, Cde Kedibone Mdolo, Northern Cape Provincial Office Bearers of DENOSA, members of DENOSA Northern Cape Provincial Executive Committee (PEC), and the recipients of the Marilyn Lahana Trust Caring Awards Northern Cape Province Regional Winners 2015.

 The Awards were presented to nurses (Regional winners within the Northern Cape Province) who are often described as dedicated, loyal, committed, respectful, honest, trustworthy, positive, outstanding, mentors, mothers to others, advisers, guiders, motivators, innovators, educators, and everything and more. These individuals are noble their profession, who carries it with passion and dignity. These nurses are willing to walk an extra mile for their patients and colleagues. They are the true heartbeat of the profession. They had developed themselves academically and professionally to become the nurses they are today to be recipients of this prestigious award.

 The Regional winners included the following nurses: Professional Nurse Rachel Martins from Lowry Ville Clinic in Pixley Ka Seme District, Enrolled Nurse Anna Lavelot from Dr Harry Surtie Hospital in Zolile Fikile Mqcawu District, Professional Nurse Marianne Eiman from Nababeep Community Health Centre in Namaqua District, Professional Nurse Gosilamang Makgetla from Manyeding Primary Health Care Clinic in John Toalo Gaetsewe District, and Nurse Educator Linda Katz-Hulana (Provincial Winner) from Henrietta Stockdale Nursing College in Francis Baard District.